Wk 4 – Art Experience – Art Care Package

IMG_7472.JPG

For this week’s art experience, I decided to send my art care package to my boyfriend. Daniel is also a 2nd year college student like me and we met at a music festival. The overall theme of my ACP is about our relationship. My ACP includes photos of us, a drawing/letter I made for him, buttons/art prints that remind me of inside jokes and memories, my collection of rave tickets (some of which we went to together), and flowers because he was the first person to ever give me flowers. Finding all the things to include in my ACP was a lot of fun because the whole process was nostalgic and thought provoking. It made me realize how many memories we’ve shared in such a short amount of time and also made me get creative with how to show my appreciation. Putting together such meaningful and aesthetic pieces all came together to make a beautiful whole that somehow all fit together despite how random it all was.

  • How is sending someone an ACP similar to sending someone a Snapchat?
    • It’s similar in the way that when I snapchat someone something, I’m sharing a part of my day or sending them something I think they will enjoy. In my art care package, I included things I liked (for example, my rave tickets collection) and things the person would like (a drawing/letter I made for them).
  • How is sending someone an ACP different from sending them a Snapchat?
    • The difference between a Snapchat and an ACP is that the Snapchat can only be seen for ten seconds before disappearing, whereas an ACP is a little more permanent because the person can look back on it whenever they want.
  • What do you think of ephemera? Is it precious? Or trash? Does it gain in value over time? Does your grandma’s parking ticket from half a century ago mean something to you? What about her tickets from Woodstock? What might your grandkids think if you one day gave them the bead bracelet you wore at Coachella?
    • I think ephemera is precious because they hold so much memories in them. I think it gains value over time because it’s so easy for people to throw away tickets that being able to keep it for that long is an achievement. While a parking ticket my grandma gave me would not mean much to me because I could get my own, seeing her ticket from Woodstock would definitely be more valuable because I could never recreate that moment she had there. I think my grandkids would see the value in a bead bracelet because music festivals have had a huge impact on our current generation that it would make history years from now, and Coachella might not be around forever.
  • Is there a difference between art that is seen by many people, like a painting in the Museum of Modern Art, and art that is seen by few, like the ACP you send to someone?
    • I think the difference between the two is that art in museums have been critically acclaimed and should be seen by many people to enjoy. ACPs are more personal and should mainly only be seen for the person it was made for because it wouldn’t hold the same meaning for strangers who view it. However if it’s not an ACP, I think art created for the purpose of public viewing, even by few people, is the same as art in museums because they have the same purpose.
  • You can take a Snapchat and a friend on the other side of the globe can view it, all within seconds. To make an ACP and send it even to a nearby friend will take days. Does this time and effort difference mean something? How is fast better? How is slow better?
    • Faster communication through Snapchat is better because there are just moments that are so fleeting and can’t be captured in something physical. Also being able to receive a Snapchat the moment someone thinks of you is special because it’s almost as if you shared that moment together, like you were physically there. Slow communication is better in its own way because it shows that an obstacle was overcome (such as preparing something over time or sending a package through UPS) instead of taking the easy way out, which is very thoughtful and shows more effort.
  • People sometimes say things like prepare a meal with love. Can you prepare a meal with love as fast as you can get food at a McDonald’s drive-thru? Does an ACP have the possibility of containing a sort of “love” different from a Snapchat?
    • I do not think you can prepare a meal with love as fast as McDonald’s drive-thru because the whole point of “preparing it with love” is that you cared enough to take your time and put in a lot of effort into cooking the food. Those are the two things a drive-thru lacks which is why they are so fast. ACPs contain a different love from a Snapchat because Snapchats are a fleeting thought of a person, whereas ACPs was a whole process of thinking about the person and putting in more effort to give them that message. 
Leave a Reply

